6.53 FAQ-797 Do I have to deactivate my old version license before getting started with my new version?

Last Update: 7/6/2018

If you have Origin 2018 and later version

From Origin2018, different versions share the same licenses, which means that the newer version will inherit all license from the old version, along with their product keys and usage status.

If you choose to install the new version on the computer on which the current Origin is licensed,

No, you do not need to deactivate your old version license. When you start Origin of new version, Origin will activate itself automatically.

If you choose to install the new version on a new computer,

Yes, you must deactivate the license of current version before you can use the same product key for the new version on the new computer.

If you have Origin 2017 and earlier version

No, you do not need to deactivate your old version license. The installation and license process for your new version is completely separate and independent of your old version.


Keywords:upgrade, new version, old version license